38 thoughts on “Lecture Notes – The Joys Of Compounding

  1. Thanks a lot sir for this great lecture on compounding.

    I have saved the pdf file and have taken print of it. I have taken notes and going to maintain a diary for this course of yours.

    I can not attend your lectures physically, since I am in Delhi, but would surely take it online. In order to make it possible, I request you to PLEASE POST ALL YOUR LECTURE NOTES AND EVERYTHING RELATED TO IT.

    Once again, thanks a tone for this lecture.

    Regards
    Anubhav

    • Anubhav,

      Thanks and I’ll make detailed lecture notes available through my blog.

      Regards,
      Jana

  2. Jana, your blogs kindle inordinately fundamental yet indomitable thoughts. Deeply thankful for posting them.

  3. Hi Jana,
    good notes.

    one thing i would like to ask is just for information to know, everybody talks about Buffet and Munger and shares their teachings. In India, don’t we have such kind of geniuses and intelligence.

    • Thanks Giri and you have a valid point. In my notes not counting the author of the books I used ten protagonist, counting evolution as one, and one of them is from India.

      I could have removed Buffett & Munger and instead used John Bogle and someone else. But the contributions made by them to this topic is gargantuan that removing them will be a disservice to them.

      Regards,
      Jana

  4. Thanks Jana

    Thanks and regards Dr R V MURALI 6, Dr RAJENDRAPRASAD ROAD HASTHINAPURAM CHENNAI-600044

    >

  5. THANKS A LOT
    JANA
    SPEECHLESS BUT LITTLE WORDS FROM THE CORE OF MY BEING,
    THAT THIS IS THE BEST GIFT CAN BE GIVEN TO A COMMUNITY AND IT IS SO VALUABLE FORM BEYOND ALL OTHER FORMS OF BENEFICENCE.
    THANKS A LOT ONCE AGAIN

    • Gaurang,

      I want to be a better version of myself and no one can match legendary Warren Buffet.

      Regards,
      Jana

  6. This is great stuff Jana. Thank you so much for posting this on your blog for people who cant attend in person. This is great learning.

  7. It was a great read and enjoyed it. Forwarded to my wife who also read it. Normally I don’t comment but this post made me to shout out thanks. If you are coming to Chennai anytime, would love to meet you.

  8. Great Job Jana, Based on notes compilation, it seems you are a voracious reader. Do you maintain a online library shelf?
    Thank you
    Keyur

  9. Hi Jana,

    This is truly a fabulous, fantastic presentation..really wonderful to read as it not only put a complex topic like compounding in a simple, powerful way but helped me in understanding logarithm in a much better way 😉 (wish I could have met you in the eleventh standard).

    Looking forward to more of such amazing flow of knowledge.

    Sincere thanks and regards to you,

    Manish

  10. Thank you for the notes. There is a small printing error in the VC-Columbus story conclusion. The model should be compounding instead of evolution.

    Waiting for the notes of the next lecture.

  11. Dear Jana,
    How come you subtract -1 when calculating the FV of the chessboard/rice example but not for the Moore’s Law or the Folding Paper examples? Thanks for clarifying.

Comments are closed.